Original wooden board to honor Lieutenant Nix, 24th Wisconsin Infantry, Stones River Battlefield

January 14, 1863

Mrs. Lieutenant Nix,

It becomes my sad duty to inform you of the death of your husband and our much esteemed friend and comrade. He fell on the 31st of December while repelling an attack of Rebel forces and died like a true soldier doing his duty to his country.

He was shot through the body and was taken to our Hospital which was soon after, taken by the enemy, who held it until the evacuation of Murfreesboro.

He died on the 5th or 6th and was buried by Lieutenant Chase of our company with military honors.

I have his effects in my possession and shall forward them to you the first opportunity. I have his revolver, sword and money and other things belonging to him. You have lost your best friend of Earth, and we deeply feel with you in this sad bereavement, for we too have lost an Esteemed Friend and true soldier.

He did his duty up to the time he fell and was loved, and his true Qualities were appreciated by all that knew him. His name and his deeds will always be held in sacred remembers by me and the members under my command.

Yours Respectfully,

Captain A. Philbrook

Source: artifact and letter text on display in the Stones River Battlefield Museum

Author: Kraig McNutt

Email me at tellinghistory[at]yahoo.com

Leave a comment