Current issue of Civil War Times (Apr 2015) has great article by Stephen M. Hood on the ‘myth’ of John Bell Hood’s doping at Spring Hill-Franklin

For all of those people, including published historians, who have always thought that John Bell Hood was doped out on laudanum at Spring Hill and Franklin, you better check your uneducated assumptions against the facts that are now indisputable.  Stephen M. Hood sets the record straight. Here are some screen shots of the current issue of CWT (April 2015). The article starts at page 30.

April 2015 Issue of Civil War Times

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 6.47.07 PM

Gen. John Bell Hood

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 7.08.25 PM

Excerpt at the very end of the article below:

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 7.10.32 PM

5 thoughts on “Current issue of Civil War Times (Apr 2015) has great article by Stephen M. Hood on the ‘myth’ of John Bell Hood’s doping at Spring Hill-Franklin

  1. i AM CLAD WE GOT THAT TAKEN CARE OF. THE MAN WAS WILLING TO FIGHT INSTEAD OF GOING HOME. WHEN HE WAS INJURIED THREE TIMES

  2. Thanks for the compliments on my article. I was very pleased with the layout and presentation by Civil War Times, with one exception. Some well-intentioned editor took a reference I had made to lieutenant general “A.P. Stewart”, and changed it to “Alfred P. Stewart.” However, as Winston Groom told me, when all is said and done, my editors will make me look foolish exponentially less often than they will save me from making a fool of myself! Thus, all things considered, CW Times did a great job with the article.

  3. Hi my name is Mike Raftery and I have family in Petersburg VA. A cousin of mine owns a couple old home there one was the headquarters of General Pickett. I was metal detecting at the house Behind the Pickett house and I found a 1780 something Spanish Reale coin with the name J. Bell counter stamped on it. I did some research and found that John Bell Hood and General Pickett were in the same division. I was wondering if you could help me identify this as being General John Bell Hoods coin. Please email me at Mcr128773@hotmail.com. Thanks Michael Raftery

    • Hi Michael. Gen. Hood was never near Petersburg any time during the war that I know of. During the Richmond/Petersburg siege he was serving with the Army of Tennessee in Georgia and Tennessee. SM Hood.

Leave a Reply

