Seth Speight’s – Co H, 5th Tennessee Infantry CSA, account of his involvement at Franklin

Seth Speight’s accounts of his action at the Battle of Franklin from his interview in the August 25, 1935 “The Altus Times-Democrat”, Altus, Oklahoma:

Seth Speight, 5th Tennessee Infantry

Yankee soldiers were lying all about as were the Confederates, making it almost impossible to determine friend from foe in the melee.

I was lying there enjoying the fight as best I could, when I happened to glance at a man lying in front of me.  I saw he was wearing the blue of the Yankee so I pushed my rifle into his side and told him to just lay his gun aside and roll over to me.

We crawled on a little farther and I saw another blue uniform.  I repeated the stick-up set again and another victim was added to my life of captures.

This went on until I had gathered about nine Yankees.  They were crawling along in front of me without their rifles and I was bringing up the rear, herding them toward out lines when the most burning and searing agony I have ever known tore through my shoulder, barely missing vital spots.  The agony was caused by a minnie ball about the size of the end of a man’s thumb.  It had passed through my shoulder, not quite coming out the back.

As for the Yanks I had captured, I don’t suppose I shall ever know what became of them.  My major worry at the time had no place for the Yank at all.  I was simply interested in doing something to stop the severe pain that was shooting through my whole uppoer body.

One of my comrades came along about that time and applied a tourniquet, which is probably the one thing that prevented my bleeding to death right there on the field of battle.

Source: info submitted by a descendant.

See his full profile here.

Here’s a word cloud based on his letter content:

One thought on “Seth Speight’s – Co H, 5th Tennessee Infantry CSA, account of his involvement at Franklin

  1. Karen Stevens Hebert

    My great, great grandfather Micajah Pickett Stevens fought and died at the Battle of Franklin. In September, my sister Helen and I visited his grave at the McGavock Cemetery for the 1st time. I’m not sure how old he was, but he had young children he left behind orphaned in Yazoo City, Ms. They were with his wife’s grandparents, his wife had died also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

