The 65th Georgia Confederate Flag: help from Australia reveals great picture

Last May I blogged on the story of the 65th Georgia’s flag being restored and now proudly displayed at the Southern Museum of Civil War & Locomotive History. In that blog post I submitted a picture of the flag bearer John Davis.

Well, thanks to a diligent researcher of the American Civil War Roundtable of Queensland – from Australia of all places – a new “old” picture of the 65th’s flag, and of John Davis, has come to light.  Check this new image out.  Davis is on the right.

June of 1917 at a Confederate reunion in Washington, DC.

What a great picture.  Here’s the restored 65th Georgia flag today.

3 thoughts on “The 65th Georgia Confederate Flag: help from Australia reveals great picture

  1. James Davis

    Hello! My name is James Davis. John Davis is my great great grandfather. The flag actually isn’t restored yet. The picture of it close up was actually taken on my dads dining room table a few weeks before it was donated to the museum in Kennesaw. Hopefuly it will be on display later this year.

    Reply
  2. Mrs. James D. Davis Jr.

    My husband is James D Davis Jr. He passed away Feb. 1, 2009 ….. His last wish was to be buried with his great grandfather’s flag. Several days after the funeral his 3 children by a different wife had it removed from his grave . Knowing their father’s last wish, it was still removed……. I tried many times to get my husband to give it to his oldest son { James D Davis }
    But, he would not give it to him ……. After being harassed , bullied & me having a heart attack …. At the end the son got the flag ! My husbands sister, told me after feuding with siblings, cousins,aunt & uncle …. James decided it would be best for everyone concerned ….. to put it in the Southern Museum. Plus, knowing it was taken from his dead fathers arms & final resting place had to be hard to sleep at night knowing it was in his house ! I have the staff the flag was on , big picture of John with flag & a big plus …. KKK item’s where the flag was on display & used it their meeting & rallies many times. My husband was a big part of the KKK for yrs in our area. Maybe one day I will make a big donation to the museum in my husbands memory.I’m sure they would love to display the staff & other things. I have read about the flag being donated & the stories would be so sugar coated …. Just wanted anyone reading this to hear the real story & 100 yrs from now the truth needs to be known & not sugar coated …… This is the real truth & to end this …. I want to say ….. The flag should still be in my husbands grave … where he wanted it to be. Thank You for reading this & hearing the truth, Mrs. Jim Davis { James D.Davis Jr.} PS …. I wish my husband had donated this flag yrs ago & his grave would never have been disturbed. That is all that bothers me …. his resting place was disturbed by his own children ! I would be scared to death of what GOD has instore …. PSS. The picture was not taken on your dad’s dining room table & he had been dead a yr or longer when you donated it….. We need to keep everything straight for all the family that will read this in yrs to come.

    Reply
    1. James D. Davis III

      Historian Greg Biggs took the picture himself when he visited my home in 2010 to appraise the flag for the donation. It was placed on my dining room table with a white cloth underneath so that the 41 bullet holes received, after being placed on the Federal breastworks by Color Bearer John Davis at the Carter Garden Confederate breakthrough during the Battle of Franklin and the William Martin blood stain could be more visible. This was necessary because of its actual and historical value. Sothebys Auction Co. sold one like it for $956,000.00 although that flag had no bullet holes, blood stains, battle history or after war pictures like this one did. My father was selfish, IF? this was actually what “HE” wanted, and if he thought that “HE OWNED” the flag after 145 years of of passing generation to generation. How could one think that anyone could possibly own history? This flag belongs to every descendant of the 65th Georgia, the Battle of Franklin, the Confederate States of America and U.S. History itself. My fathers shameful past association with the KKK and the hijacking of this honorable and priceless piece of history was and is, embarrassing to me and my family, (even if some people aforementioned, seem to still hold its association with the KKK in high regards). The KKK hijacked this symbol for their own agenda which never had anything to do with what the flag actually represented which was “States Rights” NOT slavery although slavery was part. For many, many, many years the U,S. flag flew on the slave ships not the Confederate flag. The north had slavery just like the south, Abraham Lincoln, had no opinion of slavery until it became politically advantageous for him to do so. Slavery was already on its way out and some Southerners had already freed their slaves while some Northerners including Abraham Lincolns father in-law and the family of U.S. Grant who was quoted as saying “If I thought that this war was to abolish slavery, I would resign my commission and offer my sword to the other side” freed theirs only after they were forced to do so. The museum that now houses the flag has already included the KKK hijacking in the display. I am sorry that my son made a mistake in leaving out one Great in the fact that he is a Great great great grandson of Color bearer John Davis. This mistake apparently caused at least one person to think that I had made up an untrue story. The fact that my father would not have recognized from any distance or that he barely knew his grandchildren and never saw any of his great grandchildren may help all that have read these posts understand the relationship and the difficulties that my generation endured in retrieving this important piece of history that is “Owned” by all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

