Telegram: Hood cannot be held

 

(Telegram.)
FRANKLIN, November 30, 1864–9.50 A.M.
MAJOR-GENERAL THOMAS, Nashville:
My trains are coming in all right. Half the troops are here, and the other half about five miles out, coming on in good order, with light skirmishing. I will have all across the river this evening. Wilson is here, and his cavalry on my flank I do not know where Forrest is. He may have gone east, but no doubt will strike our flank and rear again soon. Wilson is entirely unable to cope with him. Of course, I cannot prevent Hood from crossing the Harpeth whenever he may attempt it. Do you desire me to hold on here until compelled to fall back
(Signed)
J.M. SCHOFIELD,
Major-General.

 

Leave a Reply

