84th Indiana Infantry action at Franklin, report of John C. Taylor

HDQRS. EIGHTY-FOURTH INDIANA VOLUNTEERS,

December 6, 1864.

SIR: In compliance with orders received from the general commanding I have the honor to submit the following report of the operations of my regiment in the battle fought near Franklin, Tenn., November 30, 1864:

About 12 m., by direction of the general commanding brigade, I formed my regiment on the north side, my left resting on the Carter’s Creek pike, a little to the rear of the Atkins school-house, where I threw up a temporary line of works. About 3.30 p. m. the enemy attacked the skirmish line in my front, which was soon driven into the main line of works. Having my regiment formed in rear of the works I had built, I directed them to fire upon the enemy, who was exposing two lines of battle about 600 yards to my front. I kept up a brisk fire upon the enemy for about ten minutes, which, in connection with the fire from a battery in position immediately on my left, compelled the enemy to seek shelter by moving by the left flank under cover of a small hill. I ordered my men to cease firing, which they did, with the exception of an occasional shot, which was kept up until about 11.30 p. m., at which time, by order of the general commanding brigade, I withdrew my regiment from the field.

My loss in this engagement was 1 man severely and 1 slightly wounded.

I have, sir, the honor to be, most respectfully, your obedient servant,

  JOHN C. TAYLOR,

  Maj., Cmdg. Regt.

  Col. JOSEPH BRINTON,

  Actg. Asst. Adjt. Gen., 3d Brig., 1st Div., 4th Corps.

Editorial note: Taylor’s statement of one wounded contradicts Thomas’ OR of 19 wounded.

Leave a Reply

