Schofield report, December 17, 1864-3.30 p. m.

HEADQUARTERS ARMY OF THE OHIO, December 17, 1864-3.30 p. m. Major-General THOMAS,
Commanding U. S. Forces:

GENERAL: I have reached the Little Harpeth, on the Granny White pike, or rather the road which is the continuation of it. This is where the road turns off to strike the Franklin pike below Brentwood. General Smith’s troops are massed in my front, waiting for the pike to be cleared of trains. It will be hardly possible for me to get further to-night. I will mass my troops here, and try to get up my wagons and issue rations this evening. I am bridging the Little Harpeth where the Granny White road crosses it, so that my infantry may move that way. The road is hardly practicable for artillery.

Very respectfully,

J. M. SCHOFIELD,

Major-General.

The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies

You are currently in Volume XLV | Page 234

Leave a Reply

